Lachine was one of the first three parishes on the island of Montréal. It was the first parish built above the Lachine Rapids, and the 15th built in Nouvelle-France. For many years, it was a bridge between Montréal, the Great Lakes and the North American interior. This history shaped the borough’s genealogy and heritage.
Lachine’s history begins in 1534, when King Francis I sent Jacques Cartier to find a sea route leading to Asia. The captain was sure that the “great Canadian river” would take him there, but the Sault Saint Louis rapids presented a major obstacle. A stopping point was needed for unloading, storing and transporting goods, so permanent posts were established above and below the rapids: Montreal in 1642 and Lachine, 25 years later, in 1667...More
Built in 1876, the Saint John City Market is the oldest continuing farmer's market in Canada. The Market forms the historic centerpiece of a revitalized city centre as it lies adjacent to the main street of the urban core area and abuts the City’s most prominent public square, “King’s Square”. The unique architectural design of the building reveals an exterior façade reflective of the Victorian era in which it was built, while the interior space of the Market resembles the hull of a ship. The design was an intentional nod to the City’s economic and cultural heritage, as the City was an active ship building port city in the 19th Century...More
The 10 Street/Kensington Business Revitalization Zone serves the neighbourhoods of Sunnyside and Hillhurst. Sunnyside was established in the 1880's, while Hillhurst was established in 1914. This area is roughly 100 years old and there are approximately 10,000 people living in the combined neighbourhoods (Hillhurst/Sunnyside). The BRZ is a mix of various commercial shops, restaurants and new mixed use and multi-residential while surrounded by the mostly low density residential areas of Hillhurst and Sunnyside...More
This is a rural destination located just north of Waterloo, Ontario mainly known as King Street. It is a population of approximately 4000 Old Order Mennonites which is mainly composed of a farming community...More
This Station was built in 1900 out of local granite by men in the town and designed by architect Edward Maxwell. During WW2 it was a hub for Hundreds of trains’ carrying soldiers heading to Halifax. Several well know people including Winston Churchill, Barbara Ann Scott and Marilyn Monroe all stopped at McAdam Station. It is not well known by the rest of Canada but it is a historic Canadian site and makes a great day trip for many people from NB Maine and Quebec...More
50 Avenue is the Main Street is Lacombe, welcoming residents and visitors into this charming community and showcasing an intact Edwardian streetscape. 50 Avenue runs the entire width of the City, ushering people through beautiful historic residential homes, a lovely urban park and a gorgeous Edwardian commercial centre...More
This 102 hectare of land is located on the north shore of the Speed River located in the historic Preston area of the city of Cambridge. The land was obtained in 1888 and was originally a riding and driving track...More
Courthouse Square is the heart of the town of Goderich and has always left a favorable impression on those who have visited. While termed a square, the street is actually a unique, one-way octagon. It circles the county courthouse which resides in a large, beautiful park. Since Goderich was founded almost 200 years ago, tourists and residents alike have flocked to its quaint shops and tree-shrouded park by day, then stayed to view the most beautiful sunset on Ontario’s west coast, take in an outdoor movie or listen to a local band in the gazebo by night. For many years, largely in part to this picturesque square, “Canada’s Prettiest Town” has won accolades at the International Communities in Bloom...More
Located on the banks of the scenic and historic Manuels River, in Conception Bay South, Newfoundland and Labrador, the Manuels River Hibernia Interpretation Centre and 6.5 km Manuels River trail system is a prime example of what can be accomplished through partnerships, perseverance, and good planning. The Manuels River Hibernia Interpretation Centre is a bright new addition to our Town which prides itself on being a “Bright Town with a Bright Future”. Opened in July 2013, the Centre highlights the unique geology and internationally recognized trilobite fossil beds of Manuels River. Recognizing the importance of the fossil resources and trail system, the river valley is designated and zoned as Open Space Conservation in the Conception Bay South Municipal Plan and Development Regulations; a portion of the river was designated as a Significant Paleontological Site by the Newfoundland and Labrador Provincial Government in 2011.
The Manuels River Natural Heritage Society, a volunteer, non-profit organization, had long recognized the value of the world-renowned Manuels River system and developed the extensive trail system throughout the area. The Manuels River Hibernia Interpretation Centre replaces a tiny chalet which served as a tourist information centre as well as a location for basic educational programming. Since its opening, the Centre has focused on providing first-class geological and biological interpretation opportunities and is a resource for students as well as tourists and the general public. Creative exhibits explore geology and earth sciences, ecology, biology and the natural history of Manuels River and the surrounding river valley. It has helped cement Newfoundland and Labrador’s reputation as a destination for those seeking unique geological experiences.
The Manuels River Hibernia Interpretation Centre is the anchor for the Town’s Mainstreet and T’Railway developments. It serves as a focus for community activities with its café, gift shop, theatre, classrooms and multifunctional reception hall. It is a source of community pride as many local organizations and individuals were committed to fundraising and supporting the development. The well-established trails are a popular location for wellness activities, as many local residents walk the Manuels River trail system on a regular basis...More
The 104 Street Promenade (north of Jasper Ave to 104 Avenue) played an important role in Edmonton’s development and with its recent revitalization. The area serves a powerful example of the importance of heritage buildings in attracting investment and building distinct urban neighbourhoods with a strong sense of plac...More
With a central location, mountain views and lakefront amenities Bernard Avenue is downtown Kelowna's main street. It has more than 140 stores, heritage brick buildings and a variety of retail space offering an array of restaurants, cafes, fast food, entertainment and both personal and professional services...More
Settled in 1768 and incorporated in 1879, the Municipality of Clare is the only municipality in the Province of Nova Scotia that conducts business and offers services in both official languages, French and English...More
Old South/ Wortley Village
Nestled in the centre of Vancouver, Granville Island is a gathering spot for both locals and tourists that draws 10 million visits each year...More