Canadian Institue Of Planners

Shaping our Communities
Sustaining Canada's Future.

Calgary, Alberta

CIP President's Award Recipients

The President's Award recognizes achievement by a Canadian individual or organization whose significant contribution to the planning community warrants acknowledgment on a national level. Recipients of this award are chosen by the current President of the Institute, with endorsement from CIP Board of Directors. This award does not involve a nomination process. It is given annually to an individual or organization by the current President at the CIP national conference. The recipient(s) may or may not have membership in CIP.



The Hon. Lloyd Axworthy, PC CC OM


The Honourable Lloyd Axworthy is the chair of the World Refugee Council and one of Canada’s leading voices on global migration and refugee protection. After a 27-year political career, where he served as Canada’s Minister of Foreign Affairs and Minister of Employment and Immigration, among other postings, Dr. Axworthy has continued to work extensively on human security, refugee protection, and human rights in Canada and abroad.
Dr. Axworthy has also made substantial contributions to his home community of Winnipeg. As Member of Parliament for Winnipeg South Centre, his work to develop and implement the vision of the Core Area Initiative – one of Canada’s largest urban regeneration efforts – and success to convert the downtown CN yards to The Forks (and subsequent winner of CIP’s 2011 Great Places in Canada) are notable achievements. In his term as President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Winnipeg, Dr. Axworthy worked to renew the campus and its downtown community with the view to making post-secondary education more accessible to inner-city, Indigenous, new immigrant, and refugee students. He also significantly expanded the University’s outreach in the areas of Indigenous education, environmental studies, and human rights.
In recognition of his outstanding contributions, Dr. Axworthy has received many honours and accolades, including 14 honorary degrees, the Pearson Peace Medal by the Governor General of Canada, the Canadian Red Cross’s Humanitarian of the Year Award, the Order of Manitoba, and in 2015, he was made a Companion to the Order of Canada. 


Dr. Karen Lee, MD MHSc FRCPC


As a healthy built environment and policy advisor, Dr. Karen Lee and her team assist in helping communities and organizations to use built environment and social determinants of health to address the epidemics of obesity and non-communicable diseases. In building partnerships between communities and organizations, both with government and non-government groups, Karen Lee has worked tirelessly on greening built environments, improving universal accessibility, social equity and economic resilience in over 40 cities all over the world.


FutureFORWARD Task Force


The FutureFORWARD Task Force is an outstanding example of what a tightly focused and creative group of planners can accomplish through targeted research and extensive stakeholder and member engagement. Their efforts culminated in a series of comprehensive and thoughtful recommendations for the consideration of the Board.