Canadian Institue Of Planners

Shaping our Communities
Sustaining Canada's Future.

Professional Standards Committee for the Planning Profession in Canada (SC)


The Professional Standards Committee for the Planning Profession in Canada (SC) was established in 2012 to serve as a joint policy-making body with responsibility to set standards as well as the oversight, maintenance, and revision for the planning profession’s certification, accreditation, and ethical standards.
The SC is volunteer-based, comprised of one professional member from each of the Signatory Parties. The Signatory Parties are the Provincial and Territorial Institutes and Associations (PTIA) (except OUQ) and the Canadian Institute of Planners (CIP). The SC is led by a Chair who is elected by the members of the SC, and secretariat support is provided by the Canadian Institute of Planners (CIP).
The volunteer members provide the overall direction for the SC by developing and setting the Committee’s annual work plan and proposed budget (both of which are subject to input and approval by the Signatory Parties). The volunteer members play key roles on subcommittees and working groups of the SC and are responsible for coordinating key projects and initiatives. At a minimum, SC meetings are held quarterly with one in-person meeting per year. Each year in July, an annual meeting of the Signatory Parties is held to review and consider the adoption of the following year’s proposed SC work plan and budget. 
All policy recommendations made by the SC must receive the unanimous support of the Signatory Parties before incorporation into the Membership Standards Policy Manual (MSPM). The Professional Standards Board for the Planning Profession in Canada (PSB) is responsible for the administration of the professional, accreditation, and ethical standards and certification as set out in the MSPM.

2023 Standards Committee Members

Voting Members:
Emilie Adin RPP, MCIP - Professional Planners Institute of British Columbia
Bill Budd RPP, MCIP - Atlantic Planners Institute
Bruce Curtis RPP (Ret.) - Ontario Professional Planners Institute
Nina Maher RPP, MCIP - Canadian Institute of Planners
Samantha Mark RPP, MCIP - Saskatchewan Professional Planners Institute
Fernando Velarde Trejo RPP, MCIP - Manitoba Professional Planners Institute
Chelsea Whitty RPP, MCIP - Alberta Professional Planners Institute

Non-Voting Member:
Colleen Bawn RPP, MCIP - New Brunswick Association of Planners
Luc Ouellet LPP, MCIP - Licensed Professional Planners Association of Nova Scotia